The Sikandara

Around 14 kms from Agra is the place where the great emperor of the Mughal dynasty has been put to rest. The Sikandara is Emperor Akbar's mausoleum. It was Akbar who designed his own mausoleum and also had selected the place of the site. The structure and the architecture show the secular characteristic of the great emperor. Both Hindu and Islamic types of architectures are used to build the mausoleum.
Although Akbar had started building the structure when he was still alive, it was his son and heir of the kingdom, Jehangir who eventually completed after the death of Akbar in 1613 A.D. The beautiful structure has striking inlay work of white marble on red sandstone, and perfect calligraphic ornamentation. The unique pyramidal tomb structure is topped by an open terrace contained within large panels of jail screens. The area where it was built is the gateway or the beginning of the city of Agra which was once ruled by Sikandar Lodhi. Hence it has acquired the name of Sikandara, the last resting place of one of the greatest Emperors of the Mughal dynasty.

Need Help Booking?

Call our customer services team on the number below to speak to one of our advisors who will help you with all of your holiday needs.


Why Book with us?

Low rates

Get the best rates, or get a refund.
No booking fees. Save money!

We're Always Here

Call or email us, anytime
Get 24-hour support before, during, and after your trip

Travelling in India is essentially about this fulfilling freedom. And we at Prakriti Inbound celebrate this face of travel. Explore India with Prakriti Inbound - a travel agency that understands India, and your urge to discover. Explore India Travel Packages or contact us for creating your unique India travel experience
Blue City, Jodhpur
Royal Palaces Of Rajasthan (15 Days / 14 Nights)

Delhi - Agra - Jaipur - Samode - Mandawa - Khimsar - Jaisalmer - Jodhpur - Udaipur - Delhi

Sunset at Kumarakom
Best of Kerala (9 Days / 8 Nights)

Mumbai - Kochi - Thekkady - Kumarakom - Alappuzha - Mararikulam - Kochi - Mumbai

Flavour of Himalayas
Flavour of Himalayas (10 Days / 9 Nights)

Delhi - Srinagar - Gulmarg - Srinagar - Sonmarg - Kargil - Leh - Khardongla Pass - Leh - Delhi