The Lingaraj temple

Lingaraj temple dedicated to lord Shiva is the presiding deity of the city of Bhubaneshwar. This 11th century temple was earlier known as the Tribhuvaneshwar temple from where Bhubaneshwar derives its name. Built by Lalatendu Keshari of Somvansi dynasty, during the peak of the Jagannath cult in the 7th century it was later added on by many a kings and dynasties.
With height the of around 180 meters this temple dominates the sky line of Bhubaneshwar. The temple built in Hindu architectural form, typical of Orissa, has a hall of dance called the Natamandir, the hall of offering called as the Bhog Mandap and the Jagamohan, the porch. The idol inside is that of Swayambhu or self-made Lingam, half Shiva and half Vishnu which is a unique feature going in accord with the Jagannath cult expressing a fair harmony within the religion. The intriguing temple complex of Lingaraj temple has mostly all the Hindu deities, pertaining to the Jagannath cult.

Need Help Booking?

Call our customer services team on the number below to speak to one of our advisors who will help you with all of your holiday needs.


Why Book with us?

Low rates

Get the best rates, or get a refund.
No booking fees. Save money!

We're Always Here

Call or email us, anytime
Get 24-hour support before, during, and after your trip

Travelling in India is essentially about this fulfilling freedom. And we at Prakriti Inbound celebrate this face of travel. Explore India with Prakriti Inbound - a travel agency that understands India, and your urge to discover. Explore India Travel Packages or contact us for creating your unique India travel experience
Blue City, Jodhpur
Royal Palaces Of Rajasthan (15 Days / 14 Nights)

Delhi - Agra - Jaipur - Samode - Mandawa - Khimsar - Jaisalmer - Jodhpur - Udaipur - Delhi

Sunset at Kumarakom
Best of Kerala (9 Days / 8 Nights)

Mumbai - Kochi - Thekkady - Kumarakom - Alappuzha - Mararikulam - Kochi - Mumbai

Flavour of Himalayas
Flavour of Himalayas (10 Days / 9 Nights)

Delhi - Srinagar - Gulmarg - Srinagar - Sonmarg - Kargil - Leh - Khardongla Pass - Leh - Delhi