The Dargah

Popularly known as the Dargah Sharif, this is the shrine of the Sufi saint, Khwaja Moinuddin Chisti, better known as Garib Nawaz. This is considered to be his last resting place. The legend goes that in 1256 A.D. at the age of 114, the saint entered a cell to pray in seclusion for six days, at the end of which he passed away. The Urs or fair is held annually to commemorate these six days. Pilgrims of all faiths from the world come over here to attend the urus. They say that your wishes are fulfilled here if your prayers are true and with pure heart.
The Dargah is entered through a high gateway with silver doors. The great gate, Buland Darwaza leads to a second courtyard. The grave of the saint is surrounded by a silver railing and partially by marble screen.
Emperor Shah Jehan's daughter got a prayer house build over here for women devotees. In the courtyard are two massive iron quadroons in which Kheer, a sweet made of milk, is prepared and distributed on special occasions. The smaller pot can contain 2,240 Kgs of rice and the larger one can take double the amount.

Need Help Booking?

Call our customer services team on the number below to speak to one of our advisors who will help you with all of your holiday needs.


Why Book with us?

Low rates

Get the best rates, or get a refund.
No booking fees. Save money!

We're Always Here

Call or email us, anytime
Get 24-hour support before, during, and after your trip

Travelling in India is essentially about this fulfilling freedom. And we at Prakriti Inbound celebrate this face of travel. Explore India with Prakriti Inbound - a travel agency that understands India, and your urge to discover. Explore India Travel Packages or contact us for creating your unique India travel experience
Blue City, Jodhpur
Royal Palaces Of Rajasthan (15 Days / 14 Nights)

Delhi - Agra - Jaipur - Samode - Mandawa - Khimsar - Jaisalmer - Jodhpur - Udaipur - Delhi

Sunset at Kumarakom
Best of Kerala (9 Days / 8 Nights)

Mumbai - Kochi - Thekkady - Kumarakom - Alappuzha - Mararikulam - Kochi - Mumbai

Flavour of Himalayas
Flavour of Himalayas (10 Days / 9 Nights)

Delhi - Srinagar - Gulmarg - Srinagar - Sonmarg - Kargil - Leh - Khardongla Pass - Leh - Delhi