Diamond Harbour

Around 50 kms south of Kolkata is the old harbour known as the Diamond Harbour. It is a popular excursion spot where Ganges bends south on its way to sea becoming wider and deeper allowing big ships to dock. Originally known as Hajipur, it was renamed Diamond Harbour by the British and was a stronghold of Portuguese pirates. Launches run from here to Sagar Island or Sagardweep. People visit this place to see big vessels anchored. Sagardweep is at the mouth of the Hooghly and the island is considered to be the point where the Ganges joins the sea. In mid-January, a great three-day bathing festival the Ganga Sagar fair takes place here.
Very near is Joynagar, traditionally known for its moya, a sweet made of puffed rice and jaggery, has recently attracted archaeological interest. Visitors can see the manuscripts at Kalidas Dutta's collection at Joynagar, along with terracotta figurines and black stone images of Buddha, Mahavir and Vishnu, belonging to the 11th and 12th centuries.

Need Help Booking?

Call our customer services team on the number below to speak to one of our advisors who will help you with all of your holiday needs.



Why Book with us?

Low rates

Get the best rates, or get a refund.
No booking fees. Save money!

We're Always Here

Call or email us, anytime
Get 24-hour support before, during, and after your trip

Travelling in India is essentially about this fulfilling freedom. And we at Prakriti Inbound celebrate this face of travel. Explore India with Prakriti Inbound - a travel agency that understands India, and your urge to discover. Explore India Travel Packages or contact us for creating your unique India travel experience
Blue City, Jodhpur
Royal Palaces Of Rajasthan (15 Days / 14 Nights)

Delhi - Agra - Jaipur - Samode - Mandawa - Khimsar - Jaisalmer - Jodhpur - Udaipur - Delhi

Sunset at Kumarakom
Best of Kerala (9 Days / 8 Nights)

Mumbai - Kochi - Thekkady - Kumarakom - Alappuzha - Mararikulam - Kochi - Mumbai

Flavour of Himalayas
Flavour of Himalayas (10 Days / 9 Nights)

Delhi - Srinagar - Gulmarg - Srinagar - Sonmarg - Kargil - Leh - Khardongla Pass - Leh - Delhi