Dhauli, a small village 8 kms from Bhubaneshwar, situated in the lush paddy fields is famous for the Kalinga war that was fought nearly 2000 years ago. The Mauryan Emperor Ashoka in his course to expand his kingdom fought a reckless war at Kalinga. The people of Kalinga known for their valour and strength gave him and his army a tough fight. The Kalinga war was the bloodiest battle that the army of Ashoka had to face. It was after seeing the aftermath of this war that he renounced violence and embraced Buddhism. Ashoka in his venture to spread the religion erected many rock edicts throughout the length and the breadth of India, Nepal, Pakistan and Afghanistan.
The Rock edicts of Dhauli are probably the first to be erected in this venture of his. The rock edicts ask the administrators of the region to look after masses like his children. Here he also apologizes for the Kalinga war. From these war edicts Ashoka only emerges as an able administrator, an intelligent human being and as a devoted Buddhist. Considering the importance of this place, there is a huge pagoda that has been built here to commemorate the event.

Need Help Booking?

Call our customer services team on the number below to speak to one of our advisors who will help you with all of your holiday needs.



Why Book with us?

Low rates

Get the best rates, or get a refund.
No booking fees. Save money!

We're Always Here

Call or email us, anytime
Get 24-hour support before, during, and after your trip

Travelling in India is essentially about this fulfilling freedom. And we at Prakriti Inbound celebrate this face of travel. Explore India with Prakriti Inbound - a travel agency that understands India, and your urge to discover. Explore India Travel Packages or contact us for creating your unique India travel experience
Blue City, Jodhpur
Royal Palaces Of Rajasthan (15 Days / 14 Nights)

Delhi - Agra - Jaipur - Samode - Mandawa - Khimsar - Jaisalmer - Jodhpur - Udaipur - Delhi

Sunset at Kumarakom
Best of Kerala (9 Days / 8 Nights)

Mumbai - Kochi - Thekkady - Kumarakom - Alappuzha - Mararikulam - Kochi - Mumbai

Flavour of Himalayas
Flavour of Himalayas (10 Days / 9 Nights)

Delhi - Srinagar - Gulmarg - Srinagar - Sonmarg - Kargil - Leh - Khardongla Pass - Leh - Delhi