Agartala, Capital of Tripura

West Tripura
Languages Spoken:
Bengali, Kokborak, Hindi, English and local dialects
Best Time To Visit:
October To February
Long Distance Code:
Capital city of the state of Tripura
Located in the western part of Tripura, the capital of the state shares its boundaries with one of the neighbouring countries of India, Bangladesh in the west, north and the south west. In the south is the district Udaipur district and Kailasahar district in the east. It is 599 kms from Guwahati and just three hours drive from Dhaka, the capital of Bangladesh.
Agartala was always the capital of the region. It was earlier the capital of the Manikya dynasty till it was accessed by the Mughals in the mid 18th century. The British took over in the begining of the 19th century, and remained so until India gained independence. Tripura was a union territory earlier and when it gained the statehood, Agartala became the capital of the state.
Famous for palaces and natural beauty, Agartala, is a mini storehouse of rich cultural diversity. This is due to its proximity to Bangladesh and other nearby states as well.

Need Help Booking?

Call our customer services team on the number below to speak to one of our advisors who will help you with all of your holiday needs.


Why Book with us?

Low rates

Get the best rates, or get a refund.
No booking fees. Save money!

We're Always Here

Call or email us, anytime
Get 24-hour support before, during, and after your trip

Travelling in India is essentially about this fulfilling freedom. And we at Prakriti Inbound celebrate this face of travel. Explore India with Prakriti Inbound - a travel agency that understands India, and your urge to discover. Explore India Travel Packages or contact us for creating your unique India travel experience
Blue City, Jodhpur
Royal Palaces Of Rajasthan (15 Days / 14 Nights)

Delhi - Agra - Jaipur - Samode - Mandawa - Khimsar - Jaisalmer - Jodhpur - Udaipur - Delhi

Sunset at Kumarakom
Best of Kerala (9 Days / 8 Nights)

Mumbai - Kochi - Thekkady - Kumarakom - Alappuzha - Mararikulam - Kochi - Mumbai

Flavour of Himalayas
Flavour of Himalayas (10 Days / 9 Nights)

Delhi - Srinagar - Gulmarg - Srinagar - Sonmarg - Kargil - Leh - Khardongla Pass - Leh - Delhi